Evil

Uncaring, not engaged, she perches on the outskirts
Always looking in, always keeping her distance
Can’t warm her frozen heart in this crowd
Plotting how to escape, unsure why she attends
She enjoys the suffering
This malicious mortal, section of self
Weighs my shoulders down, curls them
Inward. Tells me I’ll never succeed
Tells me all matters of lies and truths
If she has me to play with, she lives
Forever, taunting and berating.
I fear that other people see her
Instead of me. She craves the attention.

(This is my October 15th Contribution to Poem A Day October. I used the following writing prompt: Write about the evil version of yourself.)

Leave a Reply

