Autumnal Equinox

Equinox unfolds and my body starts to hide
Dragging down all joy, trapped in a locked box
Only a few know of this imprisonment inside
My chest clenching burden while my mind talks
Endlessly draining energy and clarity
My mood darkness and I steady for battle
Triumph sometimes feels like a rarity
Armed with foreknowledge, I’ve a plan that’ll
Remind me of my sanity during this six month time
That moistens my eyes and dries all vein
Learning self-care while chanting that I’m
Going to break through this maze in my brain

(This is my contribution to Poem A Day October for October 11th. I used the following writing prompt: Write about abandoning or cutting ties with something or someone.)

Leave a Reply

