Custom Jokes

My life changes when I meet anyone new
When they take me in and teach me their ways
I fit myself inside their custom jokes
Exploring different paths to fill my days

I ache to learn and realize that no matter
How much I take in, there is always more
Out there to absorb, and fill my life
With questions, answers are dodged and ignored

Frustrated at my slow progress in life
I nearly forget the ones I have joined
I helped shape some of those custom jokes
Enveloping laughs previously uncoined

Life is not written in stone or contained
In a book, waiting to be freed by eyes
Scanning pages, looking for the correct
Way to be, but rather lived through surprise

I embrace this moment and am content
In knowing nearly everything changes
But we will always have love, our custom jokes
No matter how much life rearranges

 

 

Leave a Reply

