On Sickness

Does anyone else find themselves becoming a complete baby when they catch a cold?

I hear my voice get whinier, feel my energy get lower, feel parts of my body that usually go on existing without my constant attention start to doing inexplicable things and I never seem to stomp out the impending attack before it is a full-blown festival of general annoyance.

I can’t take time off work. Besides the fact that I am the only person in my department, I always view it as unfair to whoever has to cover me, and unfair to myself because I am then stressed because things don’t get done the way I would have done them (or I am mopping up after issues that had nothing to do with me). I also don’t want my paycheque to suffer because my immune system cannot keep it together. The Show Must Go On.

I considered taking my boss up on the offer to go home, have a nap and work from home after a rest, but my building is noisy right now, so it seems like more of a hassle than it would be worth in nap time.

I’m only really beginning to understand that I should have a mental checklist that I go through every day to make sure I am taking care of myself. Most of my habits were engrained long ago (brush my teeth, brush my hair, et cetera and so forth) but monitoring my energy levels, correcting unbalanced levels of heating/cooling in my body and ensuring every day is a good nutrition day should really make it on to that unwritten list, so I can avoid what seem to be inevitable sicknesses throughout the colder months.

I haven’t done this before on this blog, but I would like to pose a question: how do you make sure you are taking care of yourself?

Despite all my actions of general healthiness, I haven’t really figured out how to do that yet.

(Edit: I really don’t write as well as I usually do when sick, I noticed. My specific flavour of prose seems to be missing. I want my awesome cadence back!)

Leave a Reply

